Snow Day Scones

by catherinebrownell

As a child there’s no better news than “snow day” news. Even as a high school senior I still get excited for snow days. Of course for much different reasons than I did back then. Now a snow day translates to a baking day. An opportunity for me to have the kitchen to myself and blog to my heart’s content. I think today was quite possibly the best snow day I could have asked for since it turned my already 16 day winter break into a 17 day break. Nothing like easing back into school with a short four day week.

Also, I have a little bit of a confession. I made these scones about a month ago with the purpose of making a blog post but I never followed through because I was unhappy with the quality of my photos. I’m a perfectionist. And I’m pretty sure that started the day I was born because as a little girl I can remember throwing away half finished art projects or drawings because they weren’t “perfect”. I’ve also been a perfectionist in the kitchen since day one. If the end product doesn’t look good, it’s out. I won’t serve it/show it to anybody no matter how good it may taste.

The problem last time was my lighting. I tried to work when it was a clear sunny day and that was just a big mistake. My photos were washed out and just lackluster. And so into the trash they went. The photos, not the scones. The scones were absolutely delicious and possibly the best scone I’ve ever eaten. And I do have some scone experience under my belt since I spent two weeks in Ireland two summers ago. I know that doesn’t make me an expert, but at least maybe an expert in training?

Ireland was a truly beautiful place filled with truly beautiful scones. Before the trip I had never really had a TRUE tea scone. You know the kind that are rich and buttery, dotted with currants, and jam and clotted cream on the side? Well I fell in love, and for the next two weeks I gorged on the traditional Irish scone. I would also never advise anybody to do that, due to the fact that scones are laden with butter. The Irish certainly weren’t know for being healthy. 

This recipe is tiny, it only makes 6 at most so don’t be afraid to double it. They’re very close to the irish scone although not exact. You can add currants or raisins but I prefer the purity of the plain scone. Plus if they’re plain they’re perfect vessels for homemade jam. That’s precisely what I did since this past summer I made strawberry jam from local berries I picked myself. I also have homemade blueberry jam which my mother and sister made from wild blueberries from our camp. Either way you prepare them or dress them, they’re fabulous. You simply can’t go wrong.

Adare Manor Scones

adapted from Bon Appetit

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour plus more for work surface
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425°. Whisk baking powder, salt, and 1 1/2 cups flour in a large bowl. Add butter and blend with your fingertips until pea-size pieces form. Add milk and sugar and mix with a fork until a shaggy dough forms. Transfer dough to a lightly floured surface and gently knead until dough just comes together, 3 or 4 times.
  • Gently pat dough into a 1-inch-thick round. Using a 2-inch round biscuit cutter or inverted small glass, cut out scones. Gather scraps and repeat, patting out and cutting to make 10 scones. Transfer to a parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet.
  • Bake scones until golden brown, 15-20 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.
